The Books of the Five Book 1

by S F Burgess


This is the first book in the Epic Fantasy series The Books of the Five, a five book series where the protagonists are dragged from our own world to Mydren.  This is a world of magic where they must fight against the despotic lords of Mydren in a quest to free the people from tyranny.  Each book progresses the story and focuses on each of the five main characters in turn.

This book is the first in the series and focuses on Eleanor, the avatar of earth.


Book Summary:

"Most people's lives begin with their births; mine began with my death."

In the final moments of her life, the enigmatic Conlan drags Eleanor from her world and into his. Mydren - a vast, majestic land where myths have substance, magic is terrifyingly real and Eleanor is marked for death.

Reborn as an Avatar, the living incarnation of an ancient magic, Eleanor must think fast and act faster if she wishes to survive. This new life comes with a price; Conlan has a vital and dangerous mission to undertake.

Eleanor must learn to control her newfound abilities and cope with a host of dangers both mystical and natural, while helping her fellow Avatars to master their own talents, so they can get the connection between them working.

Can she make 'The Five' a force to be reckoned with? Will their deadly enemies destroy them? Can Eleanor overcome her own fears and find the courage she needs to reach Conlan and release him from his dark secrets?

Rights Information

Eleanor has been published in English on all amazon stores, in print using Createspace and in the Nook/Kobo/iTunes/Google ebook stores as well.

Marketing Information

Featured as part of amazon.co.uk Kindle Daily Deal on 14th feb 2014, with a Bookbub compaign on the 14th Mar 2015.


Amazon Reviews: "You really need to read this if you like fantasy action adventures"..."The characters and story draw you in and by the time you get to the end the only disappointment is that it's over!"... "Loved it! More please!! Was very quickly drawn into their brave new world and found that I could not put it down"

Nearly 200 reviews on Amazon.com/Amazon.co.uk/Amazon.de/Amazon.ca with an average of 4.4-4.5*


Over 130 ratings on Goodreads.

Author Biography

Sara Burgess lives in Manchester with her long-suffering husband, her beloved bear-dog Sweep and three cats: Frodo, Gandalf and Gimli. She has lived in Florida, Spain and France and has at different times in her life been a video shop assistant, bank clerk, school teacher, supermarket till worker, hotel receptionist, bookshop assistant, archaeologist, software trainer and she currently works as an Intranet Evangelist to pay for her first love: writing. In her infrequent spare time she enjoys the movies, opera, bike-riding, reading and hanging out at DaVinci's with the 'crew'.

Bibliographic Information
  • Pub date: June 2013
  • English
  • 9780957699601
  • United Kingdom
  • Ebook
  • Primary Price: 4.99 GBP
  • Pages: 546
  • Jojosala Publishing Ltd
  • Readership: College/Tertiary Education
  • Publish State: Self-Published
  • Illustration: One grayscale map
  • Series: The Books of the Five
  • Series Part: 1