Dark Streets of Whitechapel

A Jack the Ripper Mystery

by R. Barri Flowers

Description

Modern day criminologist and Ripperologist and bestselling author R. Barri Flowers delivers a heart-pounding historical thriller in Dark Streets of Whitechapel, featuring arguably the most infamous and elusive murderer of them all--19th century serial killer Jack the Ripper.

 

In 1888 in New York City, the search for a killer of prostitutes comes to an end with the capture of Doctor Jack Lewiston, a respected surgeon and madman. But before he can go to trial, Jack escapes from custody and flees the country to London, England.

 

Brought out of retirement to track him down is ex-NYC homicide detective-criminologist Henry Marboro. In charge of the original investigation into the “Ripper Murders,” Henry lost his objectivity when his younger sister was one of Jack’s victims. Ultimately his obsession to find the killer cost him his career, his wife, and some time in a hospital for alcohol treatment.

 

Now on a renewed mission, Henry must find Jack Lewiston and bring him back to America--dead or alive--hopefully before more prostitutes become the victims of the serial killer.

 

In the process, Henry develops an attraction for a mysterious and beautiful American nurse, Loraine Broderick, who lives in London. Unfortunately, Jack also has his sights set on her as a target of his madness in addition to ladies of the night streetwalking in Whitechapel in London’s East End.

 

 

“It gets no better than this! R. Barri Flowers has written another thriller guaranteed to hold onto its readers! It was so gripping that I forgot to breathe a couple of times!” -- Huntress Reviews

 

“A compelling and powerful account of Jack the Ripper.... Flowers has captured the sights and sounds of New York City and London’s East End in 1888.... The action is fast paced; the suspense building to a peak to the finale.” -- MysteryAbout.com

 

 

 

Rights Information

Worldwide rights available for Print; TV, Film, & Dramatization; First & Second Serialization; Radio & TV Straight Reading; Digest, Book Club; and Large Print


Foreign Language rights worldwide, excluding English, available for Digital and Audio


 

Endorsements

“A masterful thriller set in the dark underbelly of Maui, with lots of fine action, down and dirty characters, and the vivid details of police procedure. A terrific read!" -- Douglas Preston, co-creator of the bestselling Pendergast series of novels on Murder in Maui


 


"An exquisitely rich and masterfully constructed mystery.... A savvy, smooth, and sumptuous read that's as hot as Waikiki beach sand." --Jon Land, bestselling author on Murder in Honolulu


 


“A gripping and tightly woven tale you won't want to put down. Author Flowers neatly contrasts the natural beauty of a tropical paradise with the ugliness of murder and its aftermath. " -- John Lutz, Edgar winner and bestselling author of Pulse on Murder in Maui


 


"R. Barri Flowers writes with the passion and knowledge of someone who truly knows his craft. A steamy, non-stop thrill-ride through the seamy underbelly of Hawaii." -- Allison Leotta, former federal prosecutor and author on Murder in Maui


 


"Intriguing mystery in a tropical paradise with a dynamic PI. A compelling, intriguing read." -- Allen Wyler, thriller writer on Murder in Honolulu


 


"It gets no better than this! R. Barri Flowers has written another thriller guaranteed to hold onto its readers! --Huntress Reviews on Dark Streets of Whitechapel


 


"Selected as one of Suspense Magazine's Best of 2011 books." -- John Raab, CEO/Publisher on The Sex Slave Murders


 


“Before He Kills Again is a rocket of a read. Not only a heart-thumping thriller, this is that rare novel that is downright scary." – John Lutz, Edgar winner and bestselling author


“Flowers once again has written a page-turner legal thriller that begins with a bang and rapidly moves along to its final page.” — Midwest Book Review on State’s Evidence


 


“A model of crime fiction .... Flowers may be a new voice in modern mystery writing, but he is already one of its best voices.”--Statesman Journal on Justice Served


 


"An excellent look at the jurisprudence system...will appeal to fans of John Grisham and Linda Fairstein." - Harriet Klausner on Persuasive Evidence


 


“A gripping account of the murders committed by husband-and-wife serial killers Gerald and Charlene Gallego."  --Gary C. King, true crime author on The Sex Slave Murders


 


 

Reviews

“It gets no better than this! R. Barri Flowers has written another thriller guaranteed to hold onto its readers! It was so gripping that I forgot to breathe a couple of times!” -- Huntress Reviews


 


“A compelling and powerful account of Jack the Ripper.... Flowers has captured the sights and sounds of New York City and London’s East End in 1888.... The action is fast paced; the suspense building to a peak to the finale.” -- MysteryAbout.com


 


 

Bibliographic Information
  • Pub date: November 2012
  • English
  • 9781480297500 / 148029750X
  • United States
  • Paperback
  • Pages: 209
  • R. Barri Flowers
  • Readership: General
  • Publish State: Self-Published
  • Responsibility: R. Barri Flowers
  • Dimensions: 9 x 6 inches
  • Series: Jack the Ripper Mysteries
  • Volume Number: 1